Ich prevention

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mark Hewitt

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I'm quite new to fish keeping and I've read a LOT over the past few months about Ich, we lost a couple of fish to start with before we even knew what it was.

I've read lots of useful advice on treatment, but little on prevention other than making sure you have good water quality so your fish don't get sick in the first place.

However, as I understand it, there is Ich present in water supplies? That being the case if I treated it with salt, say, when I come to do a water change Ich will then be reintroduced meaning a fish only just recovering gets clobbered again.

Now I've been treating new water with Machalite Green but I now realise that's not a good idea for the health of the fish, the filter, and indeed me.

But is there a way to make sure that any new water I put into the tank is Ich free, just to give them a fighting chance? I do have a spare 6 gallon tank; could I put water in there first and heat it up to a temperature Ich can't stand? If so how high, and how long for?

Some background: I have a 64 litre (17 gallon) tank which has just been running for a month now. It has 5 black skirt tetras, who all seem ok at the moment.

Ich is not present in the water supplies, nor is it always present in healthy tanks. You can introduce ich into your tank through adding new stock that is infected, addidng water to your tank that the fish came in from the pet store, sharing equipment from infected tanks to unaffected tanks that has not been properly disinfected, and maybe a couple ways that aren't coming to mind at the moment.