I'm not an expert, but...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dieanna

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm not usually one to say anything, but I had to today. I was at Walmart picking up new filter cartridges and there was a lady getting a big bag of cichlids. He told her to dump the entire bag right in the tank as soon as she got home. She asked him if that was really the way to do it because she always scooped the fish right out and he said yes, dump the entire bag, water and all. I told her not to do that, but to float the bag for a little while and net the fish out. I said at least don't dump the water into your tank. I think the employee got mad, but oh well. :roll:

Congrats on saving many lives lol. Kudos to you when i figure out how to send them lol :oops:

lol thanks. I couldn't let her walk away with all those fish and those instructions. Just not right. My goodness, it says right on Walmart's bags never to dump the water in.

Im glad to see other members speaking up when bad advice is given in front of them.. Dont concern yourself with what the employee, manager or owner thinks, I personally feel that its my responsibility to correct mistakes when done in my presence.. If the LFS or store decides to ask me to leave.. That would be there loss.. It hasnt happened to me yet but I will not be supprised when it does.. good job! (y)

Thanks green maji. The guy immediately turned around and said to me, well, i don't float the bags because you don't know what's on the outside of them. So, now I just dump the fish in the tanks when I get them. I didn't say it, but I wanted to be like, no wonder half of the fish in here are dead. Plus, I'd rather take my chances with what's on the outside of the bag rather than what's in the water. Hopefully the girl took my advice and not his.