Molly sitting at bottom of tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fish_are_friends

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
My boyfriend and I just bought 2 dalmatian mollies yesterday. One is a male and one is a female. I'm new to owning fish and am a bit concerned about my male Molly. He was fine yesterday after we introduced him to the new tank but now he is staying around the bottom of the tank and not swimming too much. The water temperature is around 78F and he ate a bit when I fed them. I have read about cycling and am wondering if this is the reason he's not doing well. I also have a black mystery snail in the tank with them.

Fish_are_friends said:
My boyfriend and I just bought 2 dalmatian mollies yesterday. One is a male and one is a female. I'm new to owning fish and am a bit concerned about my male Molly. He was fine yesterday after we introduced him to the new tank but now he is staying around the bottom of the tank and not swimming too much. The water temperature is around 78F and he ate a bit when I fed them. I have read about cycling and am wondering if this is the reason he's not doing well. I also have a black mystery snail in the tank with them.

Hi and welcome!
It most likely is because the tank is cycling and he is not agreeing with the ammonia present (no fish does). Do you own a test kit? What size tanl? I will post some links for you to read.
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/artic...g-but-I-already-have-fish-What-now/Page2.html
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f15/guide-to-starting-a-freshwater-aquarium-186089.html
You are going to have to commence large daily water changes to keep your fish alive and healthy.
Any questions don't be afraid to ask!

Welcome to the site.
As Mumma said, cycling might be an issue here. Knowing more specifics about the tank will help us give advise. :)