My fish are sick!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I recently purchased 3 goldfish, with a new tank and everything

Then my fish started spending a lot of time at the top of the tank gulping air. I looked it up and it's something to do with ammonia? They reccomended replacing 25% of the water and doing this daily for about a month.

After a water change I noticed the fish starting to act erratically, rubbing their sides on the gravel and now they are all sitting on the bottom of the tank and not really moving. I don't know what's wrong!

It's my first time owning goldfish and I don't know what I need to do to sort these problems out!

I recently purchased 3 goldfish, with a new tank and everything Then my fish started spending a lot of time at the top of the tank gulping air. I looked it up and it's something to do with ammonia? They reccomended replacing 25% of the water and doing this daily for about a month. After a water change I noticed the fish starting to act erratically, rubbing their sides on the gravel and now they are all sitting on the bottom of the tank and not really moving. I don't know what's wrong! It's my first time owning goldfish and I don't know what I need to do to sort these problems out!

Was your tank cycled? Do you have a heater? How big is your tank? Are you using a water conditioner? Can you post some pictures?

No my tank was not cycled. I was not aware this had to be done and the pet shop owner never mentioned anything. I found out that it had to be done only when I got home. I don't have a heater or water conditioners.

The tank is about 40 litres I believe?

Here is a photo
1373823_10151953842707848_391131853_n.jpg