my guppy is sick

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

luvmyguppies

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi. I'm new to this so please bare with me. I have 5 male guppies in a 5 gallon tank. I've had them for five days. They have been a little aggressive but seem pretty happy. Today I noticed that one of them is laying on the bottom of the tank 90% of the time and only swims when the other fish nip at him. I can't get to a petstore untill tomorrow and I dnt know w!hat to do . Any advice would be great. Thanks

No I don't own a test kit. I've just learned that I need one. I plan to get one tomorrow. I've been doing 20% water changes daily with conditioned water. He seems to be having trouble breathing, his gills are moving rapidly. Ive read that adding a little salt helps with stress. Would that be a quick fix until I get to the pet store tomorrow?

I quick fix would be a large water change to bring the toxin level down in the tank. It would be a good idea to do back to back 50% water changes now. Sounds like ammonia poisoning.

Ok I'm on it!!! But, will changing the water too much cause other problems? How soon will I know if the water changing is working? Btw thank you so much for the attention to my questions!

No problem. You should hopefully see a huge improvement in the guppies behavior after the water changes. The very sick one might not make a recovery but we can certainly try our best! Changing the water will not cause problems. The tank will still cycle with frequent water changes. If you haven't already, read the article I linked above. It will explain what needs to be done in the next 4-8 weeks while the tank cycles.

I'm willing to try anything at this point! So, I'm going to start on these water changes and ill post on how it turns out! Thanks again :)