Need help from some Puffer experts

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

logansmomma1228

Aquarium Advice Addict
Okay, first off I have a dwarf puffer in a freshwater tank.

But my issue is common among all puffers and I am guessing there are more salties with puffers than over in the FW section . Here is what I posted over there:

My little guy has a bloated belly tonight. It usually rounds out after he eats and is full but it doesn't look right this time. I have read a lot about puffers being prone to internal parasites and I am curious as to whether or not this could be worms (and if so ways I can de-worm him safely).

TIA to all the wonderful salties and I look forward to joining you in 10 years when I am rich and have the room for a SW tank lol

I have no real experience with SW puffers, but I do with FW / BR. Ironic huh? lol

What type of puffer and tank details? Did this appear suddenly? What are you feeding it / them?

It is a 10 gallon tank. All levels were normal when I did pwc yesterday but I will be checking them again in the morning. Am-0 Ni-0 Na- <5.

He is Carinotetraodons - Dwarf Puffer. I thought he looked a little bloated last night but it was after feeding him. That is normal, he rounds out a little when he is full. But tonight he almost looks prego. For a minute I thought maybe he was a she but he is the only one in the tank! I am feeding him brine shrimp and there are a couple snails in the tank but he only ate one or two of them over the course of the last two weeks.

When I first got him he ate the brine shrimp fine. Then he wouldn't eat them at all. So I got some snails and after I put them in I didn't see him for like 3 weeks (I had to move plants around to find him) Then he started taking the brine shrimp again this week.