Need help with ph

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lilac

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi All,

I'm really new to this and am finding that there's a lot to learn. I have a newly cycled 10 g tank with 2 glofish danios (I've had them about 2 weeks). I've tried to add 2 more fish to make them happier, but those both ended up dying. I bought the ones that died from a different store so perhaps the fish weren't as hardy or the store had a different ph or something. My ammonia and nitrites are both 0, nitrates 10 - 20. I'm planning on doing a 20 - 25% pwc this weekend.

I tested the pH of my tap water and it's about 8.3 when it first comes out and seems to drop to 6.8 overnight. Currently the ph in my tank seems to be about 7.2 - I have a hard time discerning the differences in blue-green. I lost my card and am going by a scanned one I found online. Also, I got my tank water tested at PetSmart a few days ago and it was 6.8. The KH seems to be 2 or 2.5. With 2 drops, it turns it really pale yellow. From what I've read, it seems the most conservative way to manage the lower KH is with frequent partial water changes.

How close does the pH between my tap water and my fish tank need to be to minimize the stress to my fish? I use Seachem Prime to condition the water. Also, since there's such a wide variance - should I use spring water (from the grocery store) if I forget to leave water sitting out and I need to top off the tank?

Thanks!

- Kate

Hi All,