Need help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

adam.calhoun123

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey guys I'm brand new to this whole world of aquariums. I recently obtained a 10 gallon freshwater tank from my uncle.

If anyone can please help me with find all of the required materials needed to start and maintain a tank. I have a light, gravel, heater, and a small decoration along with seaweed.

Any help on how I should start and maintain the tank is greatly appreciated!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

You should get a filter to start with, what kind of fishes do you want in the tank ?

^^IMO I filter is not required but unless you want to do daily water changes to remove waste I'd highly suggest getting one :)

Have you heard of the nitrogen cycle? Head over to the getting started section of the forum for 2 complete articles on fish in and fishless cycling a tank. Basically when your fish poop it breaks down into ammonia and is toxic to fish. During a cycle, you build up a special type of bacteria that consume this ammonia and turn it into a nontoxic form called nitrate which is then removed through water changes. Cycling a tank takes patience but is one of the best things you can ever do for your tank.

Caleb

Also keep in mind you must be patient with the cycling process. I started a tank on june 27 and it is just now in the final stages of finishing the cycle. also you may want a test kit to keep up with how things are going

Also keep in mind you must be patient with the cycling process. I started a tank on june 27 and it is just now in the final stages of finishing the cycle. also you may want a test kit to keep up with how things are going