Neon tetras

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Clearwater

Aquarium Advice Newbie
G'day.
Newbie here.
Today I purchased my very first set of fish, Tetras. Red and blue neons
All seem happy and readily ate the meal I provided earlier tonight.
My question is this. One of the blues seems to have already chosen his patch of the aquarium and tends to bully the others away from it.
But then will gather in the main school at times. Is this normal behaviour for this fascinating breed. Also what are some other safe species I can add to my brood. Slightly larger if possible as I am finding difficult to locate the little beggars at time due to their small stature. TIA for any and all advice. Regards Ian.

Last edited:
Im not really sure what a red and blue neon tetra is. Can you post clear photos of each type?

Im going to assume the blues are standard neon tetras. The only reference I can find to red neons are actually referring to cardinal tetras which are a different species. Maybe its just a colour variation of neons that im not aware of though. Cardinal tetras grow a little larger than neons and have more of a red underside.

Assuming you have 2 species though and not 2 colour variants of a single species.

Tetras are social fish and prefer to be kept in groups of their own species. When not kept in groups, these fish get stressed and this stress can manifest in different ways. Maybe one fish gets overly aggressive and bullies another fish or all your other fish. Maybe they hide away and dont eat. Stressed fish are more likely to get sick and dont live as long as they should. A bullied fish can easily be killed by the aggressor. You ask if what you are seeing is normal behaviour, but you wont see normal behaviour when only keeping 2 of a species.