New 55g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mlws87

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone.

I'm fairly new to the aquarium hobby. I have done a bit of research and feel like I know a decent amount about aquarium care. I would, however, like to get a little info from some more experienced aquarists.

I am planning on getting a standard 55g aquarium. I want to stalk it with about ten or so tiger barbs and possibly a rainbow shark. I would also like to plant it with hygrophila and water sprite. I might also try to cover a good sized piece of driftwood with some java moss. I am kind of going for a southeast Asia (Thailand/Borneo) feel. As for the substrate, I have been looking and I think I would like to use Seachem Onyx (either sand or gravel or maybe a mixture of the two).

I have been reading about all of this and I was just curious if anyone had any advice about lighting, filter, etc.

Thanks,
Mike

I use a Marineland C-360 for my heavily planted community, I like it, you can't go very wrong with a Fluval or Rena either, it's all preference. IMO those 3 are the best, and I did a bunch of research.

The one piece of advice I always give is one I got from The Planted Tank Forum, and that is to use Seachem. Purigen instead of carbon in the canister, because it removes dissolved organics and not trace minerals that plants use, and is 'rechargeable' for long-term use. I currently have 250ml in "The Bag" (a 180 micro mesh bleachable bag) that has been in there for about 5 months and probably needs recharged, but I bought another 250ml and another "The Bag" so I can fill up the tray better, and in a few months I'll recharge the first bag, so now I'll always have at least one bag in there. Best advice I ever got, my Nitrates kept below 20ppm for 4 months, only recently has it begun to rise again, indicating that the Purigen needs to be recharged