New aquarium/Bullying barbs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Loveaquariums

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I started up an old 55 gallon aquarium a couple weeks ago and added 5 Gold Barbs on June 1st. (I now know about fishless cycling, oops) I'm trying to get it cycled, but I've never done this before so I'm hoping I'm doing ok! The levels are
Ammonia 0.25
Nitrate a little less than 5.0 ?
Nitrite 0
pH- pretty high around 8.4 today (help!)
I have well water with high pH and try using pH down, but I understand too much of a pH change is bad on the fish...what do I do?

I watched the fish last night for about 15 minutes and everything seemed great...colorful, no parasites, swimming properfly, no fighting.
But this morning, I noticed that one Gold Barb is being chased almost constantly by the others in his group. He's looking a little pale now and swimming isn't looking perfect :( What do I do? I don't have another tank to move him to. I really didn't research this fish before I bought it:facepalm: and now I wish I could return them... Some places online say barbs are aggressive and some say they are peacful...I really didn't want to deal with aggressive fish just starting out! Anything you can help me with would be great!

:welcome: to AA

First thing is do at least a 50% PWC to get those ammo readings down ASAP.. .25ppm is basically toxic levels.

Your Barbs are chasing the weakest member ... it may be ill or injured .. but probably succumbing to ammo poisoning. Maybe try to return it to the LFS. In regards to the pH, continue to monitor, but fish are remarkably resilient to high pH's. As long as it remains stable, they'll be ok.