New Tank? or something else?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MamaJasmine

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to caring for fish. I cared for a tank at a previous job at a day care center that had local fish in it. But I was not very good at it, just the only one willing. I have had this tank since mid September and I have had a hard time keeping fish alive. I started with Platys as recommended by Petsmart (I am not going to be going there anymore), the first two died in days of being in the tank. I then got 2 new platys and replaced the first two. They stayed alive and one is still in the tank and is pregnant. I then got 2 glofish (one is still alive) I have had 4 glofish die on me so far. Last week I bought an Oto as recommended by the petsmart people. I was leery on it because everything I have read says Otos are social and you need more than one, but the petsmart people just kinda laughed at me and said I would be fine with one. I am not sure if the Oto is still in my tank. I have had a pink glofish disapear and I have not seen the Oto since he went in my tank. I have looked everywhere. We moved the plants and decorations all this morning and did not find either. Last I saw the glofish was yesterday morning. She had been hiding allot for over a week. I tried a 25% water change and added a tiny bit of aquarium salt and a few drops of easybalance. I had my hubby search the tank and we found some scales and a head of a fish in one of the decorations. Not sure which fish it is that he found. I also had a platy die this morning, she had been my hider fish but had been very active the last few days. She had a patch on her head that looked like she had lost a few scales on her head and she was pretty thin. She had always hid while I was feeding them and I had gotten her a bit more to eat by giving her food in a net. I had expected her to