New to aquariums! Cloudy water.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tashalee2812

Aquarium Advice Newbie
IMG_1477203370.593276.jpgIMG_1477203428.758757.jpgIMG_1477203446.924592.jpgIMG_1477203467.589961.jpg

Hey guys,

I'm only new to this and therefore am looking for a little advice.

My tank is 80L and is filled with tank water. I've attached photos of my PH indicator and ammonia indicator.

The water is quite cloudy and I'm unsure on how to make it clearer. I have carbon in my filter and have used the blue planet water ager to try and counteract any chlorine we may have in the tanks at the moment due to having to order a delivered load of water last week.

I would like to stock neon tetras, male guppies and maybe something to dwell on the bottom of the tank.

Just wondering if anyone has any other levels I should be monitoring to alleviate the cloudiness or other levels in general so it's safer for my fish.

The tank is currently empty and I would also like some advice on stocking as I would really really like a male Betta in there too.

Thank you!! :)

Any recent work involving the substrate? If so, that would be my leading guess.

Other possibilities could be a bacterial bloom (especially if you're still in the process of cycling the tank) or an algae bloom (especially if you're adding nutrients/fertilizers/CO2 to the tank).

How long has it been cloudy for? If less than a couple of days, I would try and give it more time - it may resolve on its own.

Edit: Also, are you monitoring nitrite/nitrate levels? Or do you only use the SeaChem alerts to monitor your water parameters?