New to cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tabbiespice

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi
This is my first attempt at fish-in cycling. Previously I have been able to use established filters, gravel etc etc.

Being a brand new tank I had to start from scratch.

It's 240l juwel rio. 7 zebra danios. Using stability and prime with a little stress zyme. Artificial plants at this stage. 2x54w T5 tubes with reflectors just added (in anticipation of future planting).

It's been 3 weeks.

I have only ever got .25 ammonia readings and nitrites and nitrates have been zero. Ph is high at 8.2 but that's what our tap water is. Despite trying I can't get the ph down. Given up trying now.....fish are happy as Larry.

How long does it take before I will see changes in the chemistry?

Weird thing is I am starting to see algae forming so what's feeding the algae? I may be over feeding so have cut that down a bit and also cut back on lighting times.

But if I have been over feeding then why am I not seeing ammonia, nitrites or even nitrates yet. It's been 3 weeks.

The test kit is the API with the test tubes.......I am not doing that wrong I assure you.

I read good things about seachem stability....has it not worked? Wouldn't my ammonia be rising if it hadn't worked?

So confused now

Help?

Hi
This is my first attempt at fish-in cycling. Previously I have been able to use established filters, gravel etc etc.

Being a brand new tank I had to start from scratch.

It's 240l juwel rio. 7 zebra danios. Using stability and prime with a little stress zyme. Artificial plants at this stage. 2x54w T5 tubes with reflectors just added (in anticipation of future planting).

It's been 3 weeks.