New to it... having problems!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JamesShall

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello! i'm new to this fish thing, but I thought I had done all the research I needed to get the tank up and running. Now I'm having problems and I'm out of ideas. Please help!

My set up -
tall (about 3 feet tall) 75 gallon tank.
Penguin 330 biowheel filter
heater set to 78~80 F
Rocks and artificial plants and coral (wife thought the coral was pretty)

I obtained this tank for free. A coworker gave it away! I took it home and cleaned it out with vinegar to get the limescale and junk out of it. I hosed it out as best as I could and then resealed it with aquarium sealer (silicone).

I let this sit for about a week and then brought in inside and filled it up with water. I put in the filter and heater and ran the filter for about 2 weeks. After that, I ran the heater for about 2 days along with treating the water with Stress Coat, aquarium salt, Ph 7.0 powder, and Ammo-lock 2. Inside the 330 filter there are 2 media baskets that I filled with carbon chips with ammonia reducing media mixed in (I forget the name of that product). and went off to the store to get some fish!

I came home with 4 tiger barbs, 2 red tail sharks, a catfish, a blue lobster, and 2 rainbow fish (forgot their name... wife thought they were pretty).

The water was clear, fish and lobster were very active, and everything seemed good. The next day, one of the red tail sharks disappeared. All the fish I bought were small and nothing could have eaten it all at once. The catfish might have been able to gobble it up in about 3 bites, but I don't think that was the case, but I'll never know.