New To Marine Reef Tanks....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jme

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

i am new here and i am new to the hobby, i have had freshwater tanks for years ect, ect. I recently aquired a 46gallon bowfront marine set up with about 50 pounds of live rocks a small assortment of invertabrates and 2 small fish (clown and a damselfish). I moved the tank to my home in one night and set it back up, retaining as much of the original water as possible. (i moved everything in a small subcompact, so that wasnt a lot of water) I had no salt mix so i set it up with the water i had and left it for a day, hoping for the best.

Yesterday i bought some salt mix and made up the missing 25 gallons (aprox) of seawater, tried to match the temperatures and ph, and added it to the tank. So far it seems to be going fine, the mushrooms i have in there are open and appear happy and the sea urchin and fish are active. The fish fed well yesterday and appear to be healthy.

The tank came with a small protein skimmer and a canister filter, but due to the amount of live rock i have not hooked up the canister filter as the tank should have enough beneficial bacteria to consume the ammonia produced. I have hooked the protein skimmer up and it seems to be functioning fine at this time.