New to SW

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kbkathri

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Total newbie to saltwater tanks, but I have had freshwater in the past. We just bought a 75 gal. tank, fluval 400 canister filter, sand, live sand, heater, hydrometer, thermometer, test strips, and water de-clorinator. I think that is about it. Filled the tank with water and salt last night. Have not added the live sand yet.

Still need to buy a skimmer, live rock.

I have tons of questions, but will do more research before flooding you here. Thanks for all the great information I have read so far. I hope people don't rip into me for my mistakes as they have other posts I have seen.

Thanks.

Total newbie to saltwater tanks, but I have had freshwater in the past. We just bought a 75 gal. tank, fluval 400 canister filter, sand, live sand, heater, hydrometer, thermometer, test strips, and water de-clorinator. I think that is about it. Filled the tank with water and salt last night. Have not added the live sand yet.

Still need to buy a skimmer, live rock.

I have tons of questions, but will do more research before flooding you here. Thanks for all the great information I have read so far. I hope people don't rip into me for my mistakes as they have other posts I have seen.

Thanks.

Welcome to AA!
No one here will rip you apart for a mistake, its just when people refuse to correct mistakes and put the well being of their animals at stake that people get upset.
Do some research into a RO/DI unit and a refractometer, both are a necessity IMO for a successful SW tank.

Welcome to AA! I see you bought "Test Strips"! Test strips are fine for FW but not accurate enough for SW. You will need to get a liquid test kit. API is a good starter kit. Be sure that it has a test for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, PH. Their Master Test kit is a good starter.