NEWB established 29g tank Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

virtualrealitys

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I'm pretty new to the aquarium scene and I was wondering if anyone could give me some suggestions....

29 Gallon Tank
Wisper Filter
All Glass Heater
Bubble Curtain
1 Live Plant (No CO2 or additional lighting added, thrives fine)
Coral (fake)

Readings:

Ammonia 0
Nitrate 0
Nitrite 0
Hardness: 50
Alkalinity 20 <- Stays low for some reason
pH 6.8

Temperature Stays around 75-78F

Tank has the following fish:

2 Plecostimus
2 Platies
5 Tetra's (2 Glowlight 3 Neon)
2 Guppies

Questions: Can I add ghost shrimp to clean up some of the excess food on the bottom and how many other fish should I add, are there any other interesting breeds that would go with these fish, my wife likes anything that has lots of colors :). Any suggestions would be appreciated, thanks!

OK just a couple of comments...

when were the fish added? I ask this because your tank needs to cycle before you increase the amount of fish you have. Information on the cycle is listed in the "getting started" forum in the stickies. The nitrogen cycle is esentially the bacterial build up that eats waste and keeps your water liveable for your fish. Which leads me to my second comment. If you are seeing a large build-up of food on the bottom, you are over feeding. I only feed my fish once per day and as much as they can eat in about 2 mintues. Anything more than that only contributes to the waste problem i just discussed.