Not QUITE a total newbie...my fish story

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

darkmule27

Aquarium Advice Activist
I joined like 2 months ago and forgot to do this...oops.

This is kinda jointly shared with my mom as our big aquarium is both our project. I'm a girl, in college, a chem major (which is freaking AWESOME), a huge genetics nerd, and I've had fish for just about forever.

We started out with cheapo feeder goldfish..not sure WHAT happened to them because I was really young.
Then we discovered African Dwarf Frogs and bettas, which have become a passion of my mom and mine. We kept them (together, no issues ever) for several years. We stopped due to the live black worms, which made my mom uneasy, but we're hoping to find a good LFS in our area where we can get some happy, healthy ADFs and have them again.
In 7th grade, I got 2 convict cichlids from my bio teacher and they did what cichlids do. Long story short, the last one died around Christmas (I'm a sophomore in college!) of natural causes (dropsy brought on by old age) and we were left with a big, empty, cycled tank. The convicts left us with a bad taste about cichlids and aggresive fish in general, so we decided on a classic beginner's community aquarium.