Please help! New tank may have ich! What do I do?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gabrielle

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I set up a ten gallon aquarium about two weeks ago for my college dorm. I cycled it before putting in any fish. Now, I bought some glofish, which I know are just zebra danios, about five days ago. All has been going great until tonight, when I look over and realize that one of the glofish has several white spots on it (about ten :( ). I'm very new to aquarium owning and maintaining, so I googled what it could be, and it looks like ich. The spots are very small, and upon looking at my other danios, I see white spots on some of them as well. I never noticed these before tonight.

I reviewed the treatment advice and everyone said to raise the temperature, but I heard that danios prefer colder water. Wouldn't it harm them in some way to have the water over ten degrees hotter than they prefer, even if it's gradual??? Or should I not risk it and use the medicine? I really want to nip this in the bud before my danios' tankmates also get sick.

In my ten gallon, which is on the edge (or possibly a little) over stocked, I have one very gentle male betta, two black mollies, 6 danios, and five (um... four, I just caught one munching on the littlest one -_-) ghost shrimp. I know they aren't the best tankmates, but they actually get along and have alot of hiding places.

I included some pictures, but as they are danios, they kept moving. I tried to highlight the white spots. Do you think this could be ich? I'm even seeing white spots on their fins, which should be striped. What should I do?

At the current point, the pH is 7, and the temp is about 70. Also, I have a live fern and a moss ball, so I don't know how they would react to the treatment. Please help!

Pic 1

I don't know why, but it's not letting me include pictures...