Questions about fishless cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JHawk

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am in the process of setting up a 38 gallon planted tank and having been reading up over the past few weeks on this site and others. I am a newbie to all of this having a basic 20 gallon tank for the last several year. I'm interested in the whole fishless cycling approach...

1. Where do you get this pure amononia??? I have been looking around here in the Chicago area and can't seem to find it.

2. Regarding adding bacteria-I read about adding gravel, filter sponge, etc from existing tanks or from LFS. Any idea how much to add?? I have a Magnum hang on back for the 20 gallon that has something I could squeeze into the 38. Is that enough? If adding some gravel, how much and what do you put it in? Just a little foggy on all of this.

3. Before becoming enlightened, I made some major mistakes...Like moving the 20 gallon into the my basement office and decided I wanted new gravel. I just tossed out the old stuff and poured in some new stuff. ( I didn't know that there was good bacteria in there-that's how clueless I was) So, that gravel in the 20 has only been in there a month-worthless for the cycling of the 38, right?.

4. Any fish ideas for a community tank with a couple of Angels as the centerpiece? I have an XP2 cannister.

Thanks for listening! :D

1. Where do you get this pure amononia??? I have been looking around here in the Chicago area and can't seem to find it.
Try checking your local hardware stores, such as Home Depot. I found mine in a 99cent store. I did a search, and found these 2 for you that is worth checking out.
Just 99 Cents Store
(312) 563-1525 1518 W 18th St
Chicago, IL Map

Lawrence 99 Cents Plus
(773) 279-1849 3244 W Lawrence Ave
Chicago, IL Map