Riddle me this Batman...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rhprice3

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I had been attempting to cycle an aquarium since October 2015. On October 21st, somehow, the bottom of this aquarium cracked and all of the water leaked out. Not be discouraged, I purchased a new aquarium on Oct. 23rd and transferred all media, including filters, gravels and artificial plants into it.

I tested the new water and the levels were:
pH - 6.8-7.0
High range pH - 7.8
Ammonia - 0.0-0.25
Nitrite - 0.0
Nitrate - 0.0

I added 20 drops of pure ammonia and a couple of hours later the ammonia levels increased to 0.5-1.0 ppm.

I then added another 20 drops of pure ammonia.

11/24/15
I tested the water and the levels were:
pH - 6.6-6.8
High range pH - 7.8
Ammonia - 0.25
Nitrite - 0.0
Nitrate - 0.0

11/25/15
I added 4 tetras.
pH - 6.4
High range pH - 7.8
Ammonia - 0.25
Nitrite - 0.0
Nitrate - 0.0

11/29/15
Tested for ammonia only and it had increased to 4.0 ppm.

11/30/15
pH - 6.0
High range pH - 7.4
Ammonia - 4.0
Nitrite - 0.0
Nitrate - 0.0

Added a single dose of Proper pH (to raise pH) and Stress Zyme (to reduce ammonia?).

12/01/15
Made a 30% water change

12/02/15
pH - 6.0-6.4
High range pH - 7.8
Ammonia - 1.0
Nitrite - 0.0
Nitrate - 0.0

Water was noticeable cloudy

12/07/15
pH - 6.4
High range pH - 7.8
Ammonia - 2.0-4.0
Nitrite - 0.0
Nitrate - 0.0

After testing made a 25% water change

12/11/15
Noticed that water was starting to smell bad

Tested ammonia only and level was 2.0-4.0 ppm

Made a 50% water change

After water change, levels were:
pH - 6.0
High range pH - 7.8
Ammonia - 2.0
Nitrite - 0.0
Nitrate - 0.0

I also have a filter (Penguin 150 - made by Marineland) that has a bio-wheel and hold two charcoal filters. I replaced one of the charcoal filters and left the other in place in an attempt to knock down the smell.

12/17/15