Set Up questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Coleallensmom

Planted Tank Enthusiast
Background: I'm a fish aquarium noob who had some Tetra/Zebra fish in a 5 gallon tank. Last week I purchased a 35 gallon tank. Friday I set up the new tank, got the filter system running (AquaClear 50 gal), and added all the plastic plants/ornaments as well as 2 gallons of water from the 5 gallon. Bought four 4" sword plants and added those. Waited 24 hours and added all of the gravel and fish from the 5 gal into the 35 gallon. Also added the 15 gal Aqua-Tech filter system that was on the 5 gallon onto the 35 gallon, so that it could run simultaneously with the Aquaclear.

Testing (API Freshwater kit) so far looks like this:

Day 1 after inital set up and addition of water/ornaments from 5 gal
PH 7.4
Ammonia .25ppm
Nitrites .25ppm
Nitrates 10ppm

On day 2 I tested twice with the same results for Ammonia/NitrItes only 20ppm NitrAtes. Day three I tested twice with same Ammonia/NitrIte results with 40ppm NitrAtes. Did a PWC. Tested once Yesterday on day 4 with same results as day 3. Again the same readings this morning on day 5 with maybe a tad more Ammonia and NitrIte.

My questions:
1) Can I most likely expect a big spike in Ammonia and NitrItes or will the gravel and filter from the 5 gal keep me from having to fully cycle?

2) I'm anxious to add new fish. I've read many people mentioning Biospira/SafeStart. Worth buying? The guy I bought the new tank from gave me a bottle of Microbe-Lift Special Blend, but I couldn't find enough information online to feel it was safe to use and what I info could find said it should be used with Microbe-Lift Nite Out.)