Sexy Shrimp

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Autumnsky

Site Team
I didn't notice a thread specifically for info and showing off your pics, but it looks like it would be fun.

Dingus' Sexy Shrimp in his 3g tank vid made me positive I wanted them in the tank. Dingus, if you read this, link your video here!

For a 5G how many would be alright and which other shrimp will work in there? And if there are other shrimp, how many total should there be?

Do Sexy Shrimp reproduce in captivity?

I have little knowledge on sexies; but, i do believe they like to be in odd numbers, for some reason. i think 3 would work good!

I didn't notice a thread specifically for info and showing off your pics, but it looks like it would be fun.

Dingus' Sexy Shrimp in his 3g tank vid made me positive I wanted them in the tank. Dingus, if you read this, link your video here!

For a 5G how many would be alright and which other shrimp will work in there? And if there are other shrimp, how many total should there be?

Do Sexy Shrimp reproduce in captivity?

Sexy Shrimp are amazing! They are so much fun to watch - each one has a personality :). For a 5g you could do 5 or even 7, since from what I heard they like odd numbered groups (I only have two, by they're a mated pair.)

Glad you saw the video! Link: http://youtu.be/n-3OQbjW8zc

The female I have had eggs when I bought her, and is carrying some more now. Since I have a male, technically they could have babies but 99% of the time with sexies no larvae will survive since they must be free floating for about a week (they almost always get eaten or killed.) It is possible to successfully raise the young, but it would be difficult.