Starting up again, Advice Please. :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Vanphyre

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi all,

First I would like to say hi to everyone, this is my first time on the website, just found it tonight! Very nice setup, tutorials, and forums.

I have a 49 gallon saltwater tank that we had some fish in a year and a half ago. We have recently refilled the tank and are trying to get it ready to accept some fish and possibly live rock. Please see my signature for tank setup. Right now I have the following test results. Temperature 79deg, PH 8.5, Alkaline 1.7, Ammonia 0.1, Nitrite 0, Nitrate 5ppm.

What is the best way to get this water ready so that I get good readings? Can I just add Live rock? Should I try the technique in the tutorial by adding a raw shrimp to the tank? Any advise would be greatly appreciated. I'd love to chat with the experts and make sure I have the tank perfect before adding the fish.

My tank is approx. 3 feet across and 1 1/2 feet deep. It is about 14" from front to back with a rounded front. Can you recommend what kind of lighting I should buy if I wanted to do Live Rock? A link or product description would be very helpful. Right now just have the standard lighting for fish only tank.

Thanks and hope to talk to you all soon! My ICQ# is 6215790 and AIM is file8761 if you want to chat real time.

Scott

Welcome back to the hobby first off, some never return..
First you have to decide on wether you will want to go with some corals later on, a lot will depend on that..
Next, ditch the undergravel filter..