Stinky Moss - Should I Toss it Out?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Steeldog

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there, I'm new here and hopefully I'm posting this in the right area.

I've google searched and just can't seem to come up with an answer, so I was hoping this would be a good place to ask for some info.

Firstly: I have a 29 Gallon Freshwater Aquarium with 2 zebra danios, and soon there will also be 2 pictus cats joining them.

I'm relatively new at things, and have never had aquarium moss in the past. I bought some online, and it recently arrived in small ziplocked baggies. The first bag I opened (Christmas Moss) smelled awful, dead animal awful, but I assumed that was just the way it was since it had been couped up for awhile in the baggy - everything LOOKED healthy and green.

So I set to work trying to make a little moss/mesh cave, and after a lot of fuss I succeeded and was pleased and added it to the tank. Then I proceeded to open the next three baggies only to realize none of them stunk at all.

Could the first bag have been slightly rotten? It was all green. If so, should I worry about having it in the aquarium, will the smell eventually dissipate and it grow healthier? Or should I toss out that whole bag's worth? Am I making things worse by keeping it in there?

Any information at all would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

~Nicole

Moss has a VERY distinct smell. Even if it's fresh out of the tank. You'll get used to it.

Well, in that first bag was definitely a deathly smell, or almost fecal like, it was rank. What got me was that the other 3 bags were "normal" smelling, just sort of a musty dirt-like smell out of them.