Sudden drastic drop in pH???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishmutt

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've been cycling a 90g tank for 4 months now. Never really got it to work, ammonia would drop and I'd not see nitrite. Then nitrite would appear and ammonia would suddenly stop dropping. Then both would stop. Frustrating

A friend recommended raising my tank temp to 86 from 78 to help speed up bacteria reproduction. I did and nitrite fell to 0, but ammonia stayed stuck at 2.

Then I did a weekly pH test, normally it's at 7.6-7.7. The test read somewhere in th 5s!! I dropped back to 78 degrees and did two 50% water changes about 12 hours apart. Each time I measured pH at about 7.6 right after the change, in the low 6s/high 5s 12 hours later.

I have no fish in this tank and about 20 plants. I have been using Flourish and Flourish Excel, but I've been careful not to OD on the stuff.

I read that low pH will convert ammonia to ammonium, so that may explain why it stuck. But what could torpedo my pH like that? Warming the tank? Any ideas?

Had no idea this hobby would be so frustrating.:banghead:

I've been cycling a 90g tank for 4 months now. Never really got it to work, ammonia would drop and I'd not see nitrite. Then nitrite would appear and ammonia would suddenly stop dropping. Then both would stop. Frustrating

A friend recommended raising my tank temp to 86 from 78 to help speed up bacteria reproduction. I did and nitrite fell to 0, but ammonia stayed stuck at 2.

Then I did a weekly pH test, normally it's at 7.6-7.7. The test read somewhere in th 5s!! I dropped back to 78 degrees and did two 50% water changes about 12 hours apart. Each time I measured pH at about 7.6 right after the change, in the low 6s/high 5s 12 hours later.