Tank upgrade and ich

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MCKWESTLA

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello, I am very new to the hobby but already hooked and already upgrading tank sizes.**I am upgrading my very newly set up and cycled reef tank. My currently running tank is a 50 gallon reef with a 20 gallon sump. I have about 50lbs of LR in the old DT and 13lbs of small (crushed coral) size LR in the sump. I have another 40lbs of base rock that I would like to use for the foundation of my aquascape for my new tank.**I have purchased and am prepping my new 80 gallon tank.

Here is my situation, in my old tank I am experiencing a brown algae bloom and some of my fish have Ick. I was planning on moving all my LR and coral and invertebrates into a garbage can, then treating the fish and Live Sand in the old tank with a copper treatment. My question is, does ick live in live sand, filters, sponges, or live rock? I definitely do not want to expose my new tank to Ich.

I also want to reduce the chance of a cycle in my new tank because I really love my livestock, including my Maxima Clam. I want redo my aquascape, using some of my LR, but I am wondering if I shouldn't because of the brown algae some of the pieces have one it. Lastly, I want to cut saw some of my LR pieces and use them in a different way, is it possible to do this with them being live?

Sorry, I know this is a lot, but I could really use some input.

OH and lastly, recommendations for a skimmer would be great.

Alright I am off to go get and RO/DI unit.

Cheers

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk