This irish girl needs help :-)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

donna541

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi I am totally new to fish keeping and really need some help if u could share ur knowledge :) I have a 90l tank and I was told by my local pet store to set up the tank and leave it to run so I did this and left it 2 weeks before I added any fish . I then added 6 neon tetras and had them in 2 weeks b4 I added any other fish I then discovered this website and have now been frightened at all my fish are going to die. I purchased an Api master kit today and my results are ph over 7.6, *high ph 8.2, ammonia .25 ppm, nitrite over 5ppm, nitrate 10 ppm.. Wat do I do ?? The tank has been running total for just over 5 weeks ! Please help*

donna541 said:
Hi I am totally new to fish keeping and really need some help if u could share ur knowledge :) I have a 90l tank and I was told by my local pet store to set up the tank and leave it to run so I did this and left it 2 weeks before I added any fish . I then added 6 neon tetras and had them in 2 weeks b4 I added any other fish I then discovered this website and have now been frightened at all my fish are going to die. I purchased an Api master kit today and my results are ph over 7.6, *high ph 8.2, ammonia .25 ppm, nitrite over 5ppm, nitrate 10 ppm.. Wat do I do ?? The tank has been running total for just over 5 weeks ! Please help*

You need to lower your ammonia and nitrites below .25ppm. I would do a 75% PWC now. Then a 50% tomorrow morning and night. Your goal is to keep your ammonia and nitrite below .25ppm until your tank cycles.

The first 2 weeks that you ran your tank doesn't count in cycling your tank because there is no ammonia present.

donna541 said:
I feel so bad as I didn't know any of this b4 reading ur forums :-( the fish have been in for 3 weeks.