Tips for my planted aquarium.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tcassidy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm rather new at the planted aquarium but I gave it a go. I planted the Anubis, long grass? Moss and the little leaved things in the left of the picture.... So far they've been grow decently but do I need to have any added in supplements or more lighting than I've already added. The ground is sand substrate with gravel on top. ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1411710991.523358.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

What kind of light and bulbs are in the hood? How long do you run them daily? I'd say from the picture you have low light especially off to the sides as it appears in the picture the light illuminates mostly the center of the tank. The grass plant, depending on what it is probably won't get enough grass to thrive but time will tell. They also do better when split into smaller portions and planted about 1/2" or so apart. The other plants are mostly low light and the plant to the left looks like bacopa. With the lighting you have you should at least give plants a small amount of ferts weekly after a WC. Seachem Flourish Comprehensive would work well.

What kind of light and bulbs are in the hood? How long do you run them daily? I'd say from the picture you have low light especially off to the sides as it appears in the picture the light illuminates mostly the center of the tank. The grass plant, depending on what it is probably won't get enough grass to thrive but time will tell. They also do better when split into smaller portions and planted about 1/2" or so apart. The other plants are mostly low light and the plant to the left looks like bacopa. With the lighting you have you should at least give plants a small amount of ferts weekly after a WC. Seachem Flourish Comprehensive would work well.