Tragic Betta Deaths

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hunnelips

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
First off I would like to say hello all...I'm new to the forum. I have read and followed for awhile and finally decided to join.

Now to the point...I have had two tragic betta deaths.

I have a lot of experience keeping bettas and all of my past fish have lived 3 to 5 years.

Joey was alone in a one gallon for his whole life (3 years) up until I decided to place him in my community tank. He was very active and seemed happy for about a month and slowly lost color and became lethargic. He unfortunately passed soon after. Joey the second was purchased (could have been his identical twin) and was very happy to have tons of space to swim around and explore. He lasted about 4 weeks and died tonight. Earlier I had noticed he had a cottony growth on his underside. This had sprung up overnight because I watch all my fish very closely and the 29 gallon is at the foot of my bed. I watch them as I fall asleep nightly. I treated the tank with melafix according to dosing instructions but unfortunately it didn't help.