Using old tank water to start new aquarium?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kotenok

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi everyone. I am a beginner and I need your advice. Just yesterday I took over my friend's fish tank with 7 fishes. I have emptied it out and saved all the water in buckets, since I heard it is better to use old/native water. My question is did I do right by saving old water? Or it would be better to start with the fresh one? I also have a filter, but it is really dirty inside. Should I change it or it would be better for some time to use the native one?

kotenok said:
Hi everyone. I am a beginner and I need your advice. Just yesterday I took over my friend's fish tank with 7 fishes. I have emptied it out and saved all the water in buckets, since I heard it is better to use old/native water. My question is did I do right by saving old water? Or it would be better to start with the fresh one? I also have a filter, but it is really dirty inside. Should I change it or it would be better for some time to use the native one?

Did you save the filter media? The water doesn't really matter much. You should start your own thread so this OP wont confuse your answers with the ones meant for him/ her!

kotenok said:

Hi! It's usually advised you start your own thread.
The old water isn't necessary but the old filter is. You need to keep it wet during the move to keep the bacteria alive.

Please read this and if you have any questions don't be afraid to ask!
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/artic...-to-Starting-a-Freshwater-Aquarium/Page1.html

Ok, I'll start a new thread next time...new to this forum... any forum.
Yes, I did saved the filter media. So, what should I do next? Any recommendations?

kotenok said:
Ok, I'll start a new thread next time...new to this forum... any forum.