Wet/Dry converted to sump/refugium?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

anlnba

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello there!
I'm kind of new at this, but I was wondering about converting my current wet/dry setup to a sump/refugium/protein skimmer setup. I've done a bit of research, and it seems the wet/dry is not going to be sufficient enough to have any corals in my tank. I currently have a smaller zoa but its growth rate hasn't been much of anything. I was hoping that I could use what I currently have to get this converted. I do have some extra 10 g tanks as well as one 20g tall tank, but would it be possible to do it with what I've got already? I'll post pics later when I get home to give you a better idea. :)

Thoughts?

:thanks:

Pics would help. When it comes to making your own sump, most like to use long tanks to get more room. Without knowing anything about your setup, can't really speak on most things with this. But if what you aren't able to use what you already have, the 20 gal might be your best bet due to it being larger...though with it being tall...whichever tank is longer and gives you more room to work in all honesty even though more water is always better.

Here's photos of my Niger Trigger and Fu Manchu. Also the wet/dry.

Attachments

• 647.jpg
    647.jpg
    127.2 KB · Views: 633
  • 625.jpg
    625.jpg
    103.2 KB · Views: 188
  • 634.jpg
    634.jpg
    126.6 KB · Views: 158
Sniperhank said:
That would be ok, but the only way you'll have a fuge in that would be if you put it in the first chamber and had the skimmer in the last chamber.

Agreed. You'll also have to mount some sort of light for the macro algae and still have the water enter that chamber. Could be done though.

Hi Anna! lol