What is wrong?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JLGriffo

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone. I am a beginner, and novice fish keeper with a 24 litre tank that is home to two goldfish.

Firstly, the water keeps going cloudy even after a number of water changes and also, the filter is far too powerfull causing my fish to struggle to swim, I am worried for their health and inreally need some help thank you

That a 6 gallon tank and truthfully is way to small for any size goldfish. It could be clouding up because of the extreme amount of waste they produce. What size/kind of filter do you have on their tank?

The tank has been set up for around 3-4 days now, and the filter was came with the tank that I bought, the name of the filter is a Q116 from Pets at Home UK

JLGriffo said:
Hey everyone. I am a beginner, and novice fish keeper with a 24 litre tank that is home to two goldfish.

Firstly, the water keeps going cloudy even after a number of water changes and also, the filter is far too powerfull causing my fish to struggle to swim, I am worried for their health and inreally need some help thank you

As Rivercats stated that size tank is too small for 2 Goldfish. What we're not told by most fish/pet stores is that one Goldfish requires 20g & each additional another 10g so for 2 Goldie's you should have a 30g tank. They are big waste producers & the fact your tank is new is probably why your tank is getting cloudy. You'll always have water quality issues if you keep them in that sized tank. Are you testing your water for ammonia, nitrites, nitrates? Have you read about cycling a tank? If possible I would return them for something more appropriate for your tank size.