Would this be overstocked?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Flywire13

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi I’m new in the hobby and wanted opinion on my stocking plans. I’m buying the Ada 60p (17.1 gallons) and here’s what I’m thinking
5 panda corydoras
5 zebra otos
8 rummynose tetra
8 harlequin rasboras
Would this be too much? Aqadvisor puts me at 117%, but I’ve heard it can be a bit conservative. Tank will be fairly heavily planted. I would also probably have some shrimp but I don’t think they increase the bio load much. Any opinions or advice is welcome!

It feels like a heavy stock for a 60 litre tank. I did the same as you and put it in aqadvisor and i came out at 112% stock. Weirdly the same stock in a 55 litre tank is over 150% stock, so something is wrong somewhere.

If you keep up with weekly water changes i think you would be good.

Are you planning a fish in or fishless cycle? That might dictate your starting stock.

If you are doing a fishless cycle, once cycled I would start with the corys and either the tetras or rasboras. See how things go. If you are keeping on top of water parameters then add in some more. Etc.

It feels like a heavy stock for a 60 litre tank. I did the same as you and put it in aqadvisor and i came out at 112% stock. Weirdly the same stock in a 55 litre tank is over 150% stock, so something is wrong somewhere.

If you keep up with weekly water changes i think you would be good.

Are you planning a fish in or fishless cycle? That might dictate your starting stock.

If you are doing a fishless cycle, once cycled I would start with the corys and either the tetras or rasboras. See how things go. If you are keeping on top of water parameters then add in some more. Etc.