Apisto advice for a 40g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JustOneMore20

Algae Fighter
I am slowly stocking my 40g breeder planted tank. The tank is seen here: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f98/planted-40-breeder-log-56k-no-no-100183.html.

Right now, I only have 7 Rummynose tetras and 11 Corydoras hastatus in the tank. I plan to add more Rummies and maybe another school of fish (Embers).

I want to add atleast 1 pair of Apistos to the tank. I am new to keeping Apistos because I cannot find them locally. :( But I will be ordering a pair online soon.

I was wondering if I'd be ok adding more than one pair of Apistos or having a pair of Apistos and a pair of Blue Rams in the tank. Is the tank big enough and planted enough to have enough territory for both?

Would you suggest going with 2 pairs of Apistos or with the Apistos/Ram combo? Also, would it be ok to mix Apisto species or should I get 2 pairs of the same species? I am interested in getting A. cacautuoides for sure.

Thanks in advance! I don't want them to murder each other, so I wanted to check here first before ordering. :rolleyes:

Ohh, FYI, whatever I get, I'll be adding to the tank at the same time, since I will most likely be ordering them from the same place.

Personally I would go with the pairs of apistos. I have had no trouble with keeping rams and apistos together either though. The plants should provide territories enough to keep everyone happy. I find apistos easier to keep than GBR's. Unless you get good quality GBR's they can be sensitive to keep.

Thanks, Zags. :)

Are there any Apisto species that you'd recommend? The water is really soft from the Aquasoil substrate and the pH is low because of that and CO2 injection. I know I definitely want a pair of cacautuoides. Should I get 2 pairs of those or would it be ok to mix different species?