small cichlids in 10 gallon tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

flyer215

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So my friend gave me a 10 gallon aqarium that I'm going to bring back to school with me (i'm a college student currently on feburary break). I'm going to set it up, cycle it and then maybe in a week or so... get some fish. is a week enough? or should i cylcle it for a month?

I've always wanted cichlids. They're pretty much my dream fish. At the pet store yesterday, I saw they had small assorted cichlids, medium assorted cichlids and large assorted cichlds.

I'm thinking about getting only 2 of the small assorted cichlids for my 10 gallon. They're actually very very small.

I did research and I read that it's not good to put clichlids in a 10 gallon because they will grow.

Would it be okay to get the 2 small cichlids and keep them in my 10 gallon until I can afford another larger tank? I can't afford a larger tank right now but I will be working in the middle of May(when the semester ends) so I can buy one then. Would it be okay to keep the two small cichlids in the 10 gallon for that length of time?? Keep them in a 10 gallon from beginning of March until May? and then move them? or should I just wait?

I went to both pet stores in that same town and they said it'd be fine to keep them in a 10 gallon tank but only temporary. how temporary is temporary? i don't really trust the advice i get from the people who work at the pet store...

so please give me some advice!! thanks!!