Converting from FWLR to Coral-Poke holes in my plan

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Eardison

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey all. I'm new to the forum, but I've been researching and reading all of the advice for a few months. 8)
I've kept a FOWLR tank for about three years with a fairly descent level of success. I’ve had my casualties just like everyone else, but how else do we learn but from experience?

I’m looking to migrate from a FOWLR tank to a mini reef. My tank stats are in my profile. I want to post my plans-thoughts so more experienced reef keepers can let me know if I’m heading in the wrong direction. One last comment – I'm trying to keep my expenses low, so no extravagant suggestions if you know what I mean.

1. Purchase a Bak-Pak 2 skimmer. I’ll install it once it’s received since my tank is 3yo already. Comments on my choice? I want to run it in a 10 gal DIY sump (to add water volume and hide hardware) at a later date, but I'm taking baby steps for now. I’ve been maintaining my tank with very frequent RO water changes, but I recognize the need for a skimmer. I found a LFS that has a Seaclone 100 for 99.99 and I am tempted to jump at it. Bad choice? I really want the Bak-Pak because it seems pretty versatile and I’ve read it is more efficient. Suggestions?
2. Add a second power head for water circulation. I have one oscillating Penguin head that sits about 3 inches below water level and breaks the surface nicely. I will probably buy another and place it towards the bottom to push water through the LR. Would that be sufficient for proper circulation?
3. Bring my LR stock up to about 30 Lbs
4. Upgrade my lighting to two 40w Current-USA PC’s. Total 80W for the 20 tall. Is this enough for a 20 tall? Should I add more juice due to the tank depth – 24 inches?