Major green hair algae problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Piercy87

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have been battling green hair algae for several months now and have tried almost everything to get rid of it. I pull it out with every water change turn the rocks upside down, have seachem phosguard in a container where all the tank water is pumped through but it still keeps on growing back with a vengeance. If I can't get rid of it soon I'm closing the tank as it is starting to kill off corals and looks horrible. Does anyone have any advice to help get rid of this? I don't want to turn off the lights as I have a lot of corals sps and Lps. I know that phosphate can be inside live rock and leach out into the tank but surly if this is the case there is only a limited amount of phosphate and will run out eventually. I'm careful with feeding and make sure I only feed little so there is no excess food after. I have read up about cooking the rocks to remove the phosphate but won't that kill the bacteria as well?

My params are

Ammonia - 0
Nitrate - 0
Phosphate - 0.6
Alk - 9
Ph - 8.2

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Well, the phosphates still being in that range are pointing at a big issue. Make sure you are using ro/di water with your water changes, continue to pull the stuff out during them as well. You are on the right track, algae is a long battle you just need to keep at it.

No trolling intended, but everything you said you did should have done it. I use RO/DI when mixing my saltwater and I was beginning to have coralline and green algae. I pulled as much as I could by hand and turned some rocks upside down into the sand, I added phos guard, and did a 50% WC and boom! does not come back. How often do you do WCs? and how big?