Nitrite Levels Safe to add starter fish??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RYANLAWRENCE

Aquarium Advice Freak
hey guys im new to the saltwater tank hobby and am currently cycling my tank. My ammonia reads 0, and my nitrite reads .3mg/l which is the lowest level on my testing kit. Is it safe to add a couple of starter fish? I was thinking a pair of yellowtail blue damsels since they are cheap? Is this a good choice? Any other reccomendations?? Thanks guys

Wait for your nitrites get to 0 and you start to see some nirates. I would not put any Damsels in your tank. Damsels can get real nasty and it would be hard to add other fish later on. Wait and get the good fish that you want. By the way what size tank do you have

Wait for your nitrites get to 0 and you start to see some nirates. I would not put any Damsels in your tank. Damsels can get real nasty and it would be hard to add other fish later on. Wait and get the good fish that you want. By the way what size tank do you have
i completely agree. "starter fish" become PITA fish in a short time.
just wait until the cycle is finished and add the fish you want.

Ok thanks guys also I have one more question. I have been having a hard time maintaining my pH. I have been having to add buffer in it every day. If I dont, the pH falls to 7.7 without fail. My KH is very good about 14. But the pH has been giving me trouble for about a week and a half. Anyone have any ideas of what is causing this? I have a powerhead that blows out aerated water so i think i am getting enough aeration. Any ideas?

Don't let your Power Head shoot out bubbles that will only give you a bad salt creep. Just point it to the surface. Don't worry about your PH as swings are very common with new tanks. Stop with the buffers as this will only make matters worst because you are not letting your tank find its equilbrium.