Puffer and a crab

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wills40litreaqu

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
In a 5 gallon tank would a puffer and a red crab be compatible. If so what type of puffer should I get and how many crabs and puffers would fit and get along? :?

I know nothing about compatibility, so I will address tank size. :)

In general, a 5 gallon tank isn't really big enough for much of anything. I had 5 guppies in one one time, and I'm convinced it was way too small for that. I'd start with at least a 10. But for puffers, I'd go even higher. I don't know how big dwarf puffers get, but a normal sized one would be way too big for even a 10 gallon. I don't know how big red crabs get either, but my point is I would say you'd need bigger than a 5.

But I'm relatively new at this, so I may stand corrected.

-j

Hi wills40litreaquarium,

I am currently doing alot of research on the freshwater puffers because I would like to get some myself. The current (December 2002) issue of AFM (Aquarium Fish Magazine) has a great article on "Captive Care Tips for Freshwater Puffers".

IMHO, Puffers are quite aggressive and don't easily fit into community tanks. (Unless their tank mates are somewhat agressive, slightly larger and considerably faster). Puffers in general are very territorial so only one male unless the tank has plenty of space and hiding areas.

I do know that they love to eat snails and shrimp, I don't know how they feel about Red Crabs.

Dwarf Indian Puffers (Tetraodon Travancoricus) only grow to about 1 inch.
Figure Eight Puffers (Tetraodon Biocellatus) only grow to about 3 inches.
Most others will get too big for your 5 gallon tank.

From what I have found on the internet, only the Dwarf Indian Puffer is purely freshwater, the other "freshwater puffers" actually do better in lightly brackish to full brackish water.