Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-22-2011, 05:03 PM   #51
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ricksreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulweck
Yes I did I shut down the hole system atleast once a day. It fill my sump up to there I have like a 1.5 inches of space left over once the dt is all drained and all siphons have been broken allot of thought and planning when into that factor.
Sounds great,do you have a backup generator.Ya 'll have some bad storms in PA .
__________________

__________________
Ricksreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 09:49 AM   #52
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
paulweck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 533
No I don't have a back up generator built in to the house. But I have a portable one if I really need. It's funny we've had some really bad weather this year but haven't lost power once I've had 2 blocks away from my house go out but never here aslong as I've lived here for the past year and a half.
__________________

paulweck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 11:05 AM   #53
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ricksreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulweck
No I don't have a back up generator built in to the house. But I have a portable one if I really need. It's funny we've had some really bad weather this year but haven't lost power once I've had 2 blocks away from my house go out but never here aslong as I've lived here for the past year and a half.
I don't have one built into the house either,have a portable one.If you hadn't had the generator I bet you would have lost power for sure.LOL
Of course winter coming.
My is for piece of mind,not having one I would worry myself crazy every time hurricane or snowstorm was mentioned.We have a lot of money in our livestock after awhile.Besides I gotta have my tv to watch.LOL
__________________
Ricksreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 11:17 AM   #54
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
paulweck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 533
Hahaha ya its not a big concern to me. In my last house I lost power all the time its a bad spot and with the last storm they were out of power for 52 hours and I had power here the hole time. But when I live there and we would loose power I would run the gen to power the fridge and the tv to. So if the power ever goes out here I won't care about the fridge more my tank I can stock my fridge no problem losing my fish that would be a big problem
paulweck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 01:28 PM   #55
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
If I lost power for a long duration it would be a toss up who expired first, me or the fish. I am lost without my CPap machine. Really need to get me a generator. ****, and we even sell them. LOL
__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 02:32 PM   #56
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ricksreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdnelson99
If I lost power for a long duration it would be a toss up who expired first, me or the fish. I am lost without my CPap machine. Really need to get me a generator. ****, and we even sell them. LOL
Oh man,you're kidding,you can do your own whole house install and get everything at cost right.?
I know you have ice storms some winters.
__________________
Ricksreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 02:47 PM   #57
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricksreef View Post
Oh man,you're kidding,you can do your own whole house install and get everything at cost right.?
I know you have ice storms some winters.
Even at cost though, a whole house is more than I can stomach right now. We do get some ice storms but the Severe Thunderstorms like the one we had yesterday are the biggest worry. But, in the 5 years I have been in this house we have lost power only 2 times other than the blip here and there. One of those times was because of a problem in our neighborhood. I am in the direct path of most of the tornados that come through the Atlanta area but they always jump over my neighborhood. Oh man, I shouldn't have said that out loud huh???
__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 02:57 PM   #58
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ricksreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdnelson99

Even at cost though, a whole house is more than I can stomach right now. We do get some ice storms but the Severe Thunderstorms like the one we had yesterday are the biggest worry. But, in the 5 years I have been in this house we have lost power only 2 times other than the blip here and there. One of those times was because of a problem in our neighborhood. I am in the direct path of most of the tornados that come through the Atlanta area but they always jump over my neighborhood. Oh man, I shouldn't have said that out loud huh???
Hope your luck continues.
__________________
Ricksreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 06:25 PM   #59
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
paulweck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 533
heres a video of my tanks let me know what u guys think CLICK ON THE PICTURE TO SEE THE VIDEO
paulweck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2011, 09:11 AM   #60
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
Looks great. So wish I would have had my tank drilled and set up a sump. :-(
__________________

__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
46 gallon, 6 gallon, build, tall

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
40 gallon breeder planted build w/ stand build Bschowa Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 07-16-2011 01:01 AM
37 gallon Tall Rescape Coleallensmom Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 115 05-04-2011 12:34 PM
47 gallon tall Marka1620 Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 5 02-02-2011 02:51 AM
20 gallon tall start up Etunes Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 32 02-19-2010 09:42 PM
MY new 55 gallon & 30 gallon(tall) KeSs Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 4 11-17-2006 11:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.