Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-03-2014, 06:02 PM   #91
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Exteremecheddar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 150
yea i was looking into rodi and i prob gonna get the brs 5 stage plus. um for the powerheads, should do you think i should get something less powerful becuase the tank is only like 13 inches wide, but like 27 inches tall. should i jsut get the powerful one and point it downwards into the tank and then keep the less pwoerful one on top for gas exchange?
__________________

__________________
Exteremecheddar123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 06:10 PM   #92
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vermont
Posts: 45
I think two 450's would be good but the placement is an art
__________________

__________________
fisherman08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 06:18 PM   #93
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Exteremecheddar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 150
what brand are your powerheads? hydor? & did you get sand from lfs or did you order it. did your lfs give you the live rock also or did you order it online?
__________________
Exteremecheddar123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 09:21 PM   #94
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vermont
Posts: 45
I got it all from lfs and the power heads are hydor
__________________
fisherman08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 09:21 PM   #95
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vermont
Posts: 45
Living in Vermont is hard to order any live stock online due to the cold temps here
__________________
fisherman08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 10:22 AM   #96
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Exteremecheddar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 150
My dad was talking to a friend who works at an aquarium and he said that the ro/di is not necessary if you do not have corals.
__________________
Exteremecheddar123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 11:25 AM   #97
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exteremecheddar123 View Post
My dad was talking to a friend who works at an aquarium and he said that the ro/di is not necessary if you do not have corals.
You can get away with not using ro/di water...but it can come at a cost. Who knows what is in your tap water? There are many unknowns that can build up and cause issues, things that are good for you but not good for fish in a closed system. My ro/di has been down for some time due to large amounts of fecal matter in my spring water. I've been using distilled water from Walmart with pretty good success...been over a year with it now. There is algae growing in the tank, as is to be expected, but with my skimmer, refugium, and media reactor it is doable on my end. Just don't expect a pristine, algae free tank.
Of course not having reef lighting can also assist with holding off algae growth as well.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 06:50 PM   #98
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Exteremecheddar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 150
For the algae growth,
Would I be able to get away with
Water conditioner & in my aq 50 gfo with activated carbon.
Would this be a suitable replacement of the rodi system
I would also be running a reef octopus BH-100 protein skimmer
__________________
Exteremecheddar123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 11:47 PM   #99
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
It all depends on what's in your city water.
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 10:07 PM   #100
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Exteremecheddar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 150
sillyfishies, since you are starting a 30g have you considered an auto-top off system? i think it will be crazy to constantly be bringing water into the tank everyday since it is so small it will evaporate quickly. i was looking into the tunze nano does anyone have comments on it's reliability? i heard that the float switches are inaccurate becuase they move. does anyone have any experience with the nano? or should i invest in the regular osmolator?
__________________

__________________
Exteremecheddar123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, salt, saltwater, star, start, starting, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
thinking about starting a small saltwater tank.... Cobaltskyy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 04-04-2011 01:37 PM
Thinking about starting a saltwater tank ShadoeFox Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 04-01-2011 02:10 PM
Thinking of starting my very first saltwater tank. SP89 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 03-09-2011 06:36 PM
Thinking about starting saltwater Jgeezer1986 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 05-19-2010 08:14 PM
Thinking about starting a saltwater aquarium would love advice ckirby0127 Nano Reefs 9 03-22-2009 05:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.