Need help cycling!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vVStarlord

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Sorry for the long post, So I purchased a 29 gallon a nice filter heater and 2 thermometers,iv put sand and a few plants in there and two pieces of driftwood,it's been running for about two days, slightly cloudy from the wood but not to bad my concern is how am I meant to cycle this thing? Iv ordered some tetra safe start, but that requires fish? Should I just pour that in my tank then add 4 tetra or something? Also my current levels are 0.5 ammonia 7.2 pH 0 nitrites 0 nitrates.... Am I missing something? I'm pretty new to this haven't had a tank in probably 8 years and that seemed so much easier lol, I should also add my tanks sitting right at 80f can't seem to get it to 76

Hello vV...

Once the tank is set up with the floating plants and all, allow the tank to run for a few days without fish. After a week, add 3 to 4 small fish for every 10 gallons of water. Feed the fish a little every day or two and change a third of the water every three to four days for two to three weeks. You don't need to test the water unless you already have the gear for doing this. At the end of this time, you should remove and replace half the water every week, no excuses. If you miss a water change, you can risk harming the fish. Just feed a little every day and change half the water weekly. if you want to add a few more small fish, just increase the weekly water changes.

That's it. Pretty simple.

B