What is the best test kit to use to monitor Ammonia?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LozzyBear

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey guys,

I went to my local aquarium store (im new to this by the way) and asked for water testers as I am doing a fishless cycle to start off with. So that was all good. Anyway, come today I bought another bag of gravel because there wasn't enough, and some plants so I can start my fishless cycle.
I am just about to put the water in when I thought I should get everything ready so I know how much ammonia to put in the tank.
A guide on here says 4ppm... how am I supposed to measure this?

And also, my water testing kit does not test for ammonia!
It tests for pH, KH, GH, NO2 and NO3.:(

Which is a good test kit to start out with? When the test strips say my water is ready I am going to take a sample to the pet store just to make sure everything is okay before I introduce my fish.

Thanks for reading all of this...
a rundown

1. How do I measure for ammonia,
2. What is a good water tester for ammonia included?

Thanks for your time and responses :) anything is greatly appreciated.

LB
x

LozzyBear said:
Hey guys,

I went to my local aquarium store (im new to this by the way) and asked for water testers as I am doing a fishless cycle to start off with. So that was all good. Anyway, come today I bought another bag of gravel because there wasn't enough, and some plants so I can start my fishless cycle.
I am just about to put the water in when I thought I should get everything ready so I know how much ammonia to put in the tank.
A guide on here says 4ppm... how am I supposed to measure this?

And also, my water testing kit does not test for ammonia!
It tests for pH, KH, GH, NO2 and NO3.:(