Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > DIY Projects
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-04-2004, 06:17 PM   #1
KLN
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 75
flow control to/from sump

With a standard glass aquarium, not drilled for plumbing, how do you control the flow to and from a sump? How is the flow to and from balanced? How do you keep the return from over-filling the main tank? How do you re-start the siphon if it reaches the hole drilled to break it after a power loss?

Dumb questions, I know, but I can't figure it out conceptually.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
KLN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2004, 06:39 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Quote:
how do you control the flow to and from a sump?
Plumbing. BUt I know thats not the question. If your not using a drilled tank then you need a hang on overflow sometimes called a prefilter to take the water from in the tank to outside the tank. From there it goes down to the sump via pvc or hose.

Quote:
How is the flow to and from balanced? How do you keep the return from over-filling the main tank?
The easiest thing to do is make sure your overflow is rated for more GPH than your return pump. That way you dont have to worry about balancing it since the overflow can only drain water out of the tank as fast as the pump is filling the tank. should you run into problems where you inproperly sized the overflow or pump you could install a ball valve on the pumps return plumbing to slow the flow. Depending on the pump this could shorten the life of the pump.

Quote:
How do you re-start the siphon if it reaches the hole drilled to break it after a power loss?
The "U" tube style overflow will start up automaticly as long as the U tube ends stay under water. If the U tube says full of water then it will start teh spyhon automaticly when power is restored. If the U tube is empty of water, ie one end became exposed to air, then the syphon will not start and you will have to be there to start it or have a very wet floor.

A common overflow is sold by CPR is a Clam shell style overflow and it should have a powerhead attached to help keep the C shell overflow from filling with air. I dont like this type so i recommend the U tube style to anyone needing a hang on overflow.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 09:50 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
Quote:
How do you re-start the siphon if it reaches the hole drilled to break it after a power loss?
This hole is only on the return/pump side of the system. This is to prevent the return side from syphoning out water in the event of a power loss. There should be no hole on the overflow/out side of the system.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2004, 05:29 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Thanks for the further clarification.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
control, flow, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Too much flow in sump? want2findnemo Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 37 07-28-2008 12:47 PM
Emporer 280 - Flow Control? neilanh General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-23-2007 02:19 PM
DIY Sump flow control question Ksnell DIY Projects 2 07-19-2006 12:48 PM
Sump Flow mykpoz General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 10-04-2005 12:21 AM
Eheim 2213 flow control yeldarb General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 01-13-2005 10:02 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.