Need a little help please!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

daisyclover43

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Newbie here! I have a 35g hex cycled 3 months. Have 1 yellow headed sleeper goby and a valentini puffer. Did water change 1 week ago. Since then, added 2 shrimp and 2 flame scallops. Also added a live rock with toadstools on it. Fed the rock and flame scallops last night with liquid reef plankton. Tonight, water is testing differently. Amonia is in between 0 and 0.25, nitrite is at 0.25 and nitrate is in between 0 and 5.0... HELP! what do I need to do to get all levels back to 0?

The best thing I know of is a water change, but you did that already lol. I would suggest daily PWC's until you see the levels dropping. But I don't know anything about SW so not sure if it would be the same. Good luck! And welcome. I'm sure you will get your answers soon.

Just freaking out a little here, because never had water problems before adding the new critters... worried I might be killing something in the tank!

you don't feed the rock. how much of this liquid reef food did you add? it's certainly not the addition of the shrimp and scallops that caused an ammonia spike. it was probably that food.

I gave 1 total capful of that reef plankton... the live rock has large live toadstools on it, and was told they had to be fed the liquid plankton, and the flame scallops get the same thing. Told to feed only 3x per week the toadstools and the scallops.

Newbie needs help with water parameters

user_online.gif
progress.gif