10 gallon planted tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Loukas42

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I've never done a planted tank before.

I've been Doing a lot of research and now I've come to my last stop, advice from the pros haha.

I would love for you guys to help guide me through this process.

Okay, where do I start?

first, you've gotta understand that having a planted tank is a costly process
second, plants need a specific type of light to let them grow better
third, they need fertilizer as well

You should start! Lol. Tell us your lighting system and all that good stuff.

Yes I know it's costly and I know they need a lot of care but I'm ready to take the leap into planted tanks.

I don't have lighting. I've been looking around at t5ho lights and also some custom led setups but idk which one to go for yet.

IMO t5ho would be overkill on a 10 gallon tank. I would look into LED or PC solutions.

Do you know what kind of planted tank you want to setup? Are you looking at low light, medium light, or high light plants? Have you started looking into CO2 injection yet, and is that something you are interested in?

If you have some species of plants that you know you are interested in and what kind of tank (high tech/low tech) you want to setup, it will help us suggest some good lighting solutions for your tank. Another good starting point would be your budget - there are low end and high end solutions for just about everything in this hobby, and everything in between.

i wud suggest getting an incandescent hood from any store then replacing the bulbs with compact fluorescents. 2 10w bulbs should do since that would put you at medium light. and since it's a 10g tank, it's not too deep either so i think that would be perfect. don't forget, too much light and not enough nutrients or co2 would invite algae, and no one wants algae :/