20 gallon long diary

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jonnythan

Aquarium Advice Activist
I mixed 15 pounds of Flourite Black Sand with 10 lbs of a river pebbles mix. I poured the water in and the pebbles made their way to the top of the mix. I'm going to add a bit more black and mix it back up so the substrate is mostly black with some flecks of lighter colors.

So this is my first attempt at aquascaping or doing planted tanks at all. I have a big piece of driftwood sitting in that bucket and will be rock hunting this weekend. I've made some doodles about the kind of look I'm going for.

I think I'll be adding a black background to the tank.

I'll keep this thread updated with new pics as they come.

Attachments

• n637156598_1498484_98.jpg
    n637156598_1498484_98.jpg
    28.8 KB · Views: 67
I am quite the artist.

Attachments

• n637156598_1499478_4738.jpg
    n637156598_1499478_4738.jpg
    31.1 KB · Views: 67
Nice start. May I suggest using fabric for the black background it work great for me on my 55

Wow, that never even occurred to me. That's a great idea. Thanks.

PS attatch it with velcro for easy removal. just buy the kind made be 3M or whomever that is graded for fabric use. I sewed mine to the fabric and stuck it to the black trim on the tank... Keeps the nasty bubble from forming and you dont have to use Veggie or Mineral oil to attatch it and make it look good.

n637156598_1505246_9259.jpg

Spent last night hardscaping.