29 gallon build jour

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mcgolg76

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So all my supplies have arrived and I am ready to start setting up my first reef tank. I have no experience with sw but have done a lot of research. If you are following along and see any mistakes please let me know.

Tank is going to be sumpless. Using two koralia 600s for flow. My lighting is a 120 watt dimmable taotronics LEDs. So far I have painted the back of the tank black. Slowly making rodi water in buckets. Started filling tank and noticed floor board a bit uneven so want to make some shims before I put any more water in.
Have 27 lbs of dry rock and live rock in buckets. Gonna get another 15 lbs.
Tomorrow's plan is to wash the sand, figure out how to hang me lights and calibrate my Refractometer. Hopefully can get all the rocks and sand in this weekend so I can start cycling. B

Ty if you read so far and please give feedback.

What's your plan for cycling? Like Mac said you sound like you have a good base to start off of :)

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I researched like crazy before I spent a penny. Hobby way to expensive to make mistakes.
Not 100 percent how much I need to cycle. Sand I bought is not live. Bought about 4 pounds of live rock and 23 pounds of dry rock. The dry rock was still damp and still has some purple so figure there is some life in it. Have had it in bucket of sw with a heater and power head. Hopefully will give me a head start on my cycle. Should I add a raw shrimp?

If you plan on cycling the rock separately from the tank, you can do it in the bucket...
However with live rock, is recommend doing a soft cycle. There are plenty of articles on here about that.